Category:

CHROMagar™ ESBL

For overnight detection of Gram-negative bacteria producing Extended Spectrum Beta-Lactamase

Order References

Please use these references when
contacting your local distributor:

5000 mL Pack ……….. ESRT2
Included: base RT412 + supplement ES372

25 L Pack ……………. ESRT3-25
Included : base RT413-25 + supplement ES373-25

Description

Colonies Appearance

C3GR ecoli

E. coli ESBL

dark pink to reddish

C3GR klebsiella

Klebsiella, Enterobacter,

Citrobacter ESBL

metallic blue (+/- red halo)

C3GR proteus

Proteus ESBL

brown halo

Pseudomonas ESBL

translucent cream to blue

C3GR pseudomonas

Acinetobacter ESBL

cream, opaque

Performance

ESBL (Extended Spectrum β-Lactamases) are enzymes that mediate resistance to penicillins, extended-spectrum third generation cephalosporins (C3G) and monobactams. ESBL-producing Enterobacteriaceae started to appear in the 1980s, and have since emerged as some of the most significant hospital-acquired infections with Escherichia coli and Klebsiella spp. being the main actors, but other Gram-negative species have also been observed. Emergence of ESBL-producing isolates has important clinical and therapeutic implications:
 

- Resistance determinants for ESBL production are carried on plasmids that can be easily spread from organism to organism.


- The spread of resistance toward extended-spectrum cephalosporins may lead to increased prescription of more broad-spectrum and expensive drugs.


- These resistant isolates may escape detection with routine susceptibility testing performed by a clinical microbiology laboratory, which can result in adverse therapeutic outcomes.


 

Therefore, the early detection of ESBL-producing bacteria carriers is important to minimise their impact and the spread of infections and customise therapeutic patient treatment.


 

CHROMagar™ ESBL allows the detection of ESBL-producing bacteria while inhibiting the growth of other bacteria, including most of those carrying AmpC type resistance. This is an important feature because intrinsic AmpC resistance has less epidemic relevance, but often leads to ESBL false positive reading in the classical testing methods.

Intended Use :


CHROMagar™ ESBL is a selective and differential chromogenic culture medium, intended for use in the qualitative direct detection of gastrointestinal colonization with Extended-spectrum-beta-lactamase-resistant Enterobacteria (ESBL) to aid in the prevention and control of ESBL in healthcare settings. The test is performed with rectal swab and stools from patients to screen for ESBL colonization. Results can be interpreted after 18-24 h of aerobic incubation at 35-37 °C.


 

The medium can also be used as an early warning indicator for diagnostic tests of infections to signal the possible presence of multi drug-resistant bacteria. This use does not replace the institution’s protocols.


 

CHROMagar™ ESBL is not intended to diagnose infection caused by ESBL producers nor to guide nor monitor treatment for infections. A lack of growth or the absence of colonies on CHROMagar™ ESBL does not preclude the presence of ESBL-producing bacteria. Further identification, susceptibility testing, and epidemiological typing is needed on suspect colonies.

1. Fast results: Detection after overnight incubation.

4. Time and workload savings: Direct Culture from specimen. There is no need of a selective pre-enrichment.

2. Species Differentiation thanks to the chromogenic performances of supplemented CHROMagar™ Orientation. Indeed, the product is composed of a powder base CHROMagar™ Orientation and a supplement to enhance ESBL-producing bacteria.

5. Flexibility: CHROMagar™ ESBL is supplied with a more than 18 months shelf-life. This allows flexibility of use, whether in an epidemic situation with many patients to screen, or whether for random surveillance of cultures.

Composition

Technical Documents

To download the certificate of analysis, please indicate your lot number below:


Scientific Publications

Category:

CHROMagar™ ESBL

Pour la détection des bactéries productrices de Beta-Lactamases à spectre étendu

Références de commande

Veuillez utiliser ces références lorsque
vous contactez votre distributeur local :

Pack de 5000 mL ……….. ESRT2
Inclus : base RT412 + supplément ES372

Pack de 25 L ……………. ESRT3-25
Inclus : base RT413-25 + supplément ES373-25

Description

Apparence des colonies

C3GR ecoli

E. coli BLSE

rose foncé à rougeâtre

C3GR klebsiella

Klebsiella, Enterobacter,

Citrobacter BLSE

bleu métallique (+/- halo rouge)

C3GR proteus

Proteus BLSE

halo brun

Pseudomonas BLSE

crème translucide à bleu

C3GR pseudomonas

Acinetobacter BLSE

crème, opaque

Performances

Les BLSE (β-lactamases à spectre étendu) sont des enzymes qui interviennent dans la résistance aux pénicillines, aux céphalosporines de troisième génération à spectre étendu (C3G) et aux monobactames. Les entérobactéries productrices de BLSE ont commencé à apparaître dans les années 1980 et sont aujourd’hui l’une des infections contractées en milieu hospitalier les plus importantes, Escherichia coli et Klebsiella spp. étant les principales bactéries, mais d’autres espèces à Gram (-) ont également été observées. L’émergence d’isolats producteurs de BLSE a des implications cliniques et thérapeutiques importantes :


 

- Les déterminants de la résistance à la production de BLSE sont transportés sur des plasmides pouvant être facilement transmis d’un organisme à un autre.


 

- La propagation de la résistance aux céphalosporines à spectre étendu pourrait conduire à une prescription accrue de médicaments plus larges et plus coûteux.


 

- Ces isolats résistants peuvent échapper à la détection grâce à des tests de sensibilité de routine effectués par un laboratoire de microbiologie clinique, ce qui peut entraîner des effets thérapeutiques indésirables. Par conséquent, la détection précoce des porteurs de bactéries productrices de BLSE est importante pour minimiser leur impact et la propagation des infections et personnaliser le traitement thérapeutique du patient.


 

CHROMagar™ ESBL permet de détecter les bactéries productrices de BLSE tout en inhibant la croissance d’autres bactéries, y compris la plupart des porteurs de résistance de type AmpC. Ceci est une caractéristique importante car la résistance intrinsèque à AmpC a moins de pertinence épidémique, mais conduit souvent à une lecture faussement positive de BLSE dans les méthodes de test classiques.

Application :


CHROMagar™ ESBL est un milieu de culture chromogène sélectif et différentiel, destiné à être utilisé dans la détection qualitative directe d’une colonisation gastro-intestinale par des entérobactéries résistantes aux bêta-lactamases à spectre étendu (BLSE). Il aide à la prévention et au contrôle des BLSE dans les établissements de santé. Le test est réalisé à partir d’un écouvillon rectal et d’échantillons de selles des patients pour dépister la colonisation par les BLSE. Les résultats peuvent être interprétés après 18-24 h d'incubation en aérobie à 35-37 °C.


 

Le milieu peut également être utilisé comme indicateur d’alerte précoce pour les tests de diagnostic d’infections afin de signaler la présence probable de bactéries multi-résistantes. Cette utilisation ne remplace pas les protocoles de l’établissement.


 

CHROMagar™ ESBL n'est pas destiné à diagnostiquer une infection causée par des producteurs de BLSE ni à guider ou à surveiller le traitement des infections. Un manque de croissance ou l'absence de colonies sur CHROMagar™ ESBL n'exclut pas la présence de bactéries productrices de BLSE. Une identification, des tests de sensibilité et un typage épidémiologique supplémentaires sont nécessaires sur les colonies suspectes.

1. Résultas rapides : Détection après une nuit d'incubation.

4. Économie de temps et de charge de travail : Culture directe à partir d’un échantillon. Il n’y a pas besoin d’un pré-enrichissement sélectif.

2. Différenciation des espèces grâce aux performances chromogénes de CHROMagar™ Orientation supplémenté. En effet, le produit est composé d’une base en poudre CHROMagar™ Orientation et d’un supplément destiné à renforcer les bactéries productrices de BLSE.

5. Flexibilité : CHROMagar™ ESBL est fourni avec une durée de conversation de plus de 18 mois. Cela permet une flexibilité d’utilisation, que ce soit dans une situation épidémique avec de nombreux patients à dépister, ou bien pour une surveillance aléatoire des cultures.

Composition

Documents techniques

Pour télécharger le certificat d’analyse, veuillez indiquer votre numéro de lot ci-dessous :


Publications scientifiques