Category:

CHROMagar™ StrepB

For the isolation and differentiation of Group B Streptococcus (S. agalactiae)

Order References

Please use these references when
contacting your local distributor :

5000 mL Pack ……….. SB282

Included : base SB282(B) + supplements SB282(S1) + SB282(S2)

25 L Pack ……………… SB283-25

Included : base SB283-25(B) + supplements SB283-25(S1) + SB283-25(S2)

Description

Colonies Appearance

Group B Streptococcus 

Mauve

Other Microorganism

Blue, colourless or inhibited

Performance

GBS in pregnant women: The Group B Streptococci (GBS), also known under the name of Streptococcus agalactiae, are the cause of numerous infections in adults but mostly an important cause of serious neonatal infections, occuring in the three first weeks of life. Studies indicate that approximately 12-27 % of pregnant women are colonised by GBS. (WHO, Infectious diseases, Group B Streptococcus). Detecting vaginal (and in some countries also rectal) colonisation by GBS in pregnant women is the most effective strategy to prevent infection transmission during baby delivery.

 

Worldwide, official guidelines recommend prenatal screening of GBS in the last month of pregnancy. In GBS-carrying women, this screening allows determining the need of intrapartum antibiotic prophylaxy, which has been proved effective in preventing the infections occuring in the first week of life (known as early-onset GBS infections).

Intended Use

CHROMagar™ StrepB is a selective chromogenic culture medium that is intended to aid in the qualitative determination of Group B Streptococcus (GBS) colonization in pregnant women. This medium supports the growth of hemolytic and non-hemolytic GBS strains. The test is performed by direct, or after enrichment, plating of urine, vaginal and/or vagino/rectal swabs obtained from pregnant women. CHROMagar™ StrepB results can be interpreted after 18-24 h aerobic incubation at 35-37 °C.

CHROMagar™ StrepB is not intended to diagnose infection nor to guide nor monitor treatment for infections. Further identification, susceptibility testing and epidemiological typing is needed on suspect colonies.

1.  Easy Interprétation : Easier reading thanks to an intense mauve colony colouration.

4. Fast : Results in 18-24h.

2. High sensitivity : Detection of GBS, including non haemolytic strains, with sensitivity close to 100 %.

5. Simplicity : Incubation in aerobic conditions. No need of CO2. Confirmation by latex agglutination can be performed directly from the colony.

3. High specificity : Differentiation of GBS from other bacteria by selective inhibition or by counter-colouration.

Composition

Technical Documents

To download the certificate of analysis, please indicate your lot number below:


Scientific Publications

Category:

CHROMagar™ StrepB

Pour l’isolation et la différentiation des Streptococcus du Groupe B (S. agalactiae)

Références de commande

Veuillez utiliser ces références lorsque
vous contacter votre distributeur local :

Pack de 5000 mL ……….. SB282

Inclus : base SB282(B) + suppléments SB282(S1) + SB282(S2)

Pack de 25 L ……………… SB283-25

Inclus : base SB283-25(B) + suppléments SB283-25(S1) + SB283-25(S2)

Description

Apparence des colonies

Streptococcus Groupe B

Mauve

Autre microorganisme

Bleu, incolore ou inhibé

Performances

SGB chez les femmes enceintes : Les streptocoques du groupe B (SGB), également connus sous le nom de Streptococcus agalactiae, sont à l’origine de nombreuses infections chez l’adulte, mais surtout une cause importante d’infections néonatales graves survenant au cours des trois premières semaines de vie. Des études indiquent qu’environ 12 à 27 % des femmes enceintes sont contaminées par le SGB. (OMS, Infectious diseases, Group B Streptococcus). La détection de la colonisation vaginale (et dans certains pays aussi rectale) par le SGB chez la femme enceinte est la méthode la plus efficace pour prévenir la transmission de l’infection pendant l’accouchement.


Dans le monde entier, les directives officielles recommandent le dépistage prénatal du SGB au cours du dernier mois de grossesse. Chez les femmes porteuses du SGB, ce dépistage permet de déterminer la nécessité d’une prophylaxie antibiotique intrapartum, qui s’est avérée efficace pour prévenir les infections survenant au cours de la première semaine de vie (appelées infections à SGB précoces).

Application

CHROMagar™ StrepB est un milieu de culture chromogène sélectif destiné à faciliter la détermination qualitative d’une colonisation par Streptocoque du groupe B (SGB) chez les femmes enceintes. Ce milieu favorise la croissance des souches de SGB hémolytiques et non hémolytiques. Le test est réalisé par ensemencement direct ou après enrichissement d’urine, d'écouvillons vaginaux et/ou vagino-rectaux prélevés sur des femmes enceintes. Les résultats de CHROMagar™ StrepB peuvent être interprétés après 18-24 h d’incubation en aérobie à 35-37 °C.

 

CHROMagar™ StrepB n’est pas destiné à diagnostiquer une infection, ni à guider, ni surveiller le traitement des infections. Une identification, des tests de sensibilité et un typage épidémiologique supplémentaires sont nécessaires sur les colonies suspectes.

1.  Interprétation facile : Lecture plus facile grâce à une coloration intense des colonies en mauves.

4. Rapidité : Résultats en 18-24h.

2. Haute sensibilité : Détection du SGB, y compris des souches non hémolytiques, avec une sensibilité proche de 100 %.

5. Simplicité : Incubation en conditions d'aérobiose. Pas besoin de CO2. La confirmation par agglutination au latex peut être effectuée directement à partir de la colonie.

3. Haute spécificité  : Differenciation du SGB des autres bactéries par inhibition sélective ou par contre-coloration.

Composition

Documents techniques

Pour télécharger le certificat d’analyse, veuillez indiquer votre numéro de lot ci-dessous :





Publications scientifiques